Welcome to Alexander (Sasha) Karpeyev’s website

‘Karpeyev’s reading [of Alkan’s Concerto] … had the measure of the piece: the epic heroism of music so difficult that not many pianists could deliver it exactly as written.’

Michael White, Catholic Herald (2019)

‘It was too late: an already transfixed audience delivered their verdict with a standing ovation’

International Piano Magazine (2018)

‘This was a first rate recital from a pianist who has not featured nearly enough on our concert platforms.’

Robert Beattie, Seen and Heard International (2017)

‘…it was in epic scores by Medtner (the Sonata-Ballade) and Stravinsky (movements from Petroushka) that Karpeyev really triumphed, playing them with virtuosity and more: the deep, internalised musicianship of a master.’

Michael White, Catholic Herald (2017)

‘Karpeyev’s penetration of the [Medtner’s] unique harmonic language and architecture was fully authoritative. … The encore, Medtner’s Novella Op.17 No.1, was a further reminder of Karpeyev’s sensitivity and ear for nuance.’

Mark Ainley, Vancouver Classical Music (2017)

‘A truly brilliant recital. … Karpeyev delivered both power and delicate subtleties of dynamics and pace throughout his taxing programme. What style, what stamina!’

Andrew Connal, Latest 7 (2011)

Karpeyev’s artistic maturity was palpable, and it shone through every bar of his closing item – a commanding performance of Liszt’s B minor Sonata.’

Richard Bratby, The Birmingham Post (2007)

Latest News

  • April 2019
  • Alexander has signed a contract with CHANDOS for the release of twenty two Medtner’s songs with Sofia Fomina

  • November 2018

Alexander’s debut CD ‘Russian Emigre Composers’ received rave reviews in Musical Opinion, International Piano and MusicWeb magazines. Listen to it on Spotify, Apple Music, Google Play or buy here

  • May 2018

Alexander has delivered a paper on Nikolay Medtner during the 4th international conference ‘Russian Heritage in the UK’.

  • April 2018

Alexander is to record a programme of English piano music. The CD will be relased in 2019. 

  • March 2018

Alexander has recorded twenty-two Medtner songs with Sofai Fomina. The CD will be relased in 2019.

  • December 2017

Alexander is  ‘One to Watch’ at the International Piano magazine Jan-Feb 2018 issue

  • November 2017

Organised and curated Second International Medtner Festival. To see photos and read more visit www.MedtnerFest.co.uk

  • August 2017

Recorded the ‘Final Flowering’, a debut CD dedicated to Russian émigré composers. The CD will be released on Claudio Records in June 2018

  • July 2017

Performed at the En Blanc en Noir festival in France.

  • June 2017

Delivered a UK premiere of songs by Nikolay Golovanov in London with Igor Golovatenko. Here is a short review (in Russian)

  • April 2017

Delivered a lecture-recital  as part of the 36th Rachmaninov International Festival in Tambov (Russia).  Here is a short interview (in Russian)

  • February 2017

Performed at London’s Kings Place to a critical acclaim. Reviews appreared in Seen and Heard International and Catholic Herald magazines

Performed for the Müzewest Series in Vancouver. Review appeared at vanclassicalmusic.com

Gave an interview for Seen and Heard International

  • August 2016

Took part at the Piano Week International Festival

  • July 2016

Performed at the Cobb Collection Series, Hatchlands, East Clandon

  • June 2016

Appointed Music Curator at the Pushkin House in London

  • February 2016

Performed in Germany, U.S.A

Performed the Rachmaninov Second Piano Concerto with the Amadeus Orchestra at the Cadogan Hall, London

  • January 2016

Artistic director of a three-day Medtnerfest in London at the Royal College of Music, British Library and Pushkin House with the kind support for an International Study Day from the Royal Musical Association


Click Here


Click Here


Click Here